Primary Sources for United States History

National Collection: Historic photographs, presidential papers and more from the Library of Congress

DPLA is a major portal to digitized collections ranging "from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science" that illustrate America's history & culture

The Chicago Public Library’s 10-year run of the Examiner, while incomplete, represents the longest run of the paper still available

Translations of Chicago ethnic newspapers from 1861-1938

Chicago's version of the New Yorker magazine

Selection of digitized newspapers covering a period ranging from 1836 to 1922

Digitized version of the NAACP magazine from 1910 to the present

Ongoing project to digitize classic media magazines including selected issues of Photoplay, Film Daily and Moving Picture World

Digitized versions of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present)

Popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the US

Complete run of the WWI edition of the newspaper from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919

Newspaper published by the National War Work Council of the YMCA at Camp Upton in Long Island

More than 3400 digitized maps, photos and other documents of the aviator

Digitized documents dealing with diplomacy and other mattters

Primary sources of the controversial priest include radio broadcasts, the newspaper, Social Justice, pamphlets and books

Correspondence and other papers of the aviation pioneers primarily dating from 1900 to 1940; part of American Memory

Transcribed articles and speeches by Sanger

Compilation of state department documents covering foreign relations from Lincoln through Eisenhower

Official papers and speeches from Hoover through Clinton

Major ongoing project to digitize over 400,000 items illustrating the history of WWI primarily European in focus but does include material dealing with the US

Digitized collection includes published texts plus six hundred pages of manuscript letters and diary entries and images.

Digitized collection includes photographs, diaries and other material dealing with the US military intervention against the Bolsheviks in northern Russia 1918-1919

More than 200 pamphlets including political tracts, government publications and more

Over 1,800 examples of music from the WWI era

Collection of more than 1500 digitized pamphlets and other writings dealing with prohibition.

"Twenty-six volumes were gathered for an investigation of Chicago crime, focusing on prostitution and the illegal sale of alcohol. Notes are from on-scene investigations, summaries of court records and newspaper clippings."

Materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years; includes books, images, articles and more; part of American Memory

"Contains correspondence, press releases, speeches, and reports" that "document Anderson's work with the Anti-Saloon League "

Photographs of the 1934 strike

Collection of digitized materials dealing with 1917 deportation of miners

More than 100 items including newspaper clippings and images documenting the 1916 event. Also see collection from Everett Public Library

Collection of nearly 100 audio files and transcripts of those participating in the 1937 strike

Contains correspondence, grievance cases, and trade rulings from the agreement that "grew out of the unsuccessful nineteen-week strike of workers in the Chicago men’s clothing industry in 1910."

2,900 life histories describe the informant's family education, income, occupation, political views and more; part of American Memory

Collection of 148 interviews originally compiled for a 1993 PBS broadcast; includes video plus transcripts; from the collection of Washington University.

Audio recordings, photographs, manuscript materials, publications, and ephemera documenting the everyday life of residents in migrant work camps in 1941-1942

1936 to 1943, over 900 posters.

Photographs of the Civil Works Administration projects in Washington.

Photographs and black-and-white film negatives from 1935-1944.

Print advertisements dating from the 1920s to 1950s

Based on an exhibit, a collection of moving images from 1919 - 1963.

The Survey of Race Relations was a 1920s study of Asian immigrants on the West Coast; materials include: life-history questionnaires, financial records, conference reports, meeting notes, and other printed materials